Old 02-27-2008, 03:06 PM   #1
Kaillech
Casting On

Wooden vs. Metal vs. Plastic needles
Hey everyone. I'm new to knitting but after figuring out the knit stitch last night and sort of mastering it, I'm finding that I like it and may well prefer it to crochetting. What I'm curious about is the different needle materials. For crochetting I use metal hooks as that's what I was given. With knitting it's sort of the same. I was given a starter set which are Boyle 8s. They're metal and I have to say that I'm not overly fond of the metallic click while working. So I've been thinking about trying different needle types. I've read a bit about the stickiness of bamboo and pretty much nothing about plastic ones at all and I'm curious about the opinions of those here. Which type do you prefer? Do you have a recommendation for a beginner? Does the needle material really matter?

My knitting and reading blog

Kaillech on Ravelry
Kaillech is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-27-2008, 03:21 PM   #2
Sunshine's Mom
Turning the Heel

It's all a preference. I learned on plastic. Currently, most of my single point needles are plastic. I have one pair of aluminum, but I don't like them because of the clicking noise (drives me crazy) and one pair of bamboo, which I love.

My first foray into DPNs and circular needles was with bamboo. I like them and will use them, but if given a choice I will use Harmony wood needles or aluminum as the points are more pronounced. Bamboo doesn't let the stitches slide as easily for me as I knit on the tight side.

I've never used plastic DPNs or circulars.

I've been using aluminum DPNs for socks and recently invested in a set of Harmony wood needles to see if I would like them better. I love them and will be buying more in different sizes.