Old 02-28-2008, 09:53 PM   #1
Dobedoop
Casting On

Send a message via AIM to Dobedoop
Fair Isle Knitting: How to weave in loose yarn?
Hello! I'm working on my first fair isle project. I saw in a book that says that when one colour is used over, say, seven stitches, the unused yarn, when put into use again, would leave a loose strand on the wrong side. A solution to this is to "weave in" the unused yarn along the way so it doesn't hang loosely.

I have trouble understanding how I could weave the yarn through? My yarn is still attached to the balls it comes in and can't be woven as I would normally do when I weave in loose ends of yarn that is cut from a ball. Any suggestions?
Dobedoop is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-28-2008, 10:18 PM   #2
Plantgoddess+
Working the Gusset

I am not an expert, but what little I did was just take the unused skein of yarn and lift it over the yarn you are working with, this allows your working yarn to trap the yarn you are not using. I do this every 2-3 stitches making sure not to tighten the unused yarn too much as this will cause puckers on the right side of your work.
Old 02-28-2008, 11:54 PM   #3
Dobedoop
Casting On

Ooh thanks for the advice!

What does it mean when a side is puckered?
Old 02-29-2008, 12:01 AM   #4
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,837 Posts
When you're doing stranded knitting, you don't want to work too tightly or have your 'floats' of yarn across the back to tight or you will get puckering.

The way I catch the long floats is this--it catches the yarn without twisting anything.