Old 03-29-2008, 11:05 PM   #1
munchkin928
Ribbing the Cuff

Making toys - questions about increasing and stuffing
Hi everyone,

This is my first post here. I've been knitting very sporadically for the past two years or so. My latest interest is in makings some toys for my nephews and niece. So far it's gone decently well, but I had a question/problem to ask the more experienced knitters about.

What is the best increase to use when you don't want much of a hole in the knitted fabric? So far I've tried either M1A or M1L (from this website). I think either one would be fine on normal fabric, but when I stuff the little animals you can see a hole where the increase happened. The problem is especially heinous when I'm working a small number of stitches on double pointed needles. Would a KFB make a more invisible increase?

Thanks for your help!
munchkin928 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-29-2008, 11:33 PM   #2
Rorshach
Turning the Heel

Send a message via ICQ to Rorshach Send a message via Yahoo to Rorshach
I've noticed that making an increase using KFB does make more invisible increase, another thing that helps, is wet blocking. as it will help tighten the stitches a bit.

Wisdom is knowing what to do. Skill is how to do it. Virtue is getting it done.

That which does not kill you, isn't trying hard enough.
Rorshach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 12:41 AM   #3
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts