Old 04-01-2008, 03:25 AM   #1
magellan18
Casting On

help: ladder when knitting with double pointed needles
Hello - I'm a beginner knitter and I'm learning to do socks. So far everything is good, but where my double pointed needles join, there's a long ladder up my sock where 1 stitch (between needles) is always looser. I've tried my best to pull it tight at that particular point every time - small improvement, but not perfect.
Any ways to fix this?
Could I do these socks, for example, on a circular needle? Would that make it better? But what would I do with the stitches I'm not working, for example, the instep stitches when I work the heel flap?
Any help would be appreciated Thanks!

angela
magellan18 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-01-2008, 03:36 AM   #2
magellan18
Casting On

I got it!
Well, one quick google search solved that problem. For anyone who is interested, the bottom of this page has several suggestions:
http://www.knitty.com/issuesummer03/FEATtheresa.html
I think for me the last tip applies most - I tend to insert the working needle above rather than below.
:D I will have socks!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to magellan18 For This Useful Post:
ArtLady1981 (04-01-2008), Indygirl (04-01-2008), The.Knitter (04-01-2008)
Old 04-01-2008, 04:13 AM   #3
ArtLady1981
Mod Squad

Thanked 3,893 Times in 3,014 Posts
I've never knit socks...but I worked on dpn's on several stocking hats this past winter. The final throes of the top of the hat required dpn's.

Here is what I did to prevent the ladder or gap:

When I got to the end of (and finished all the stitches) on dpn #1...instead of picking a new blank dpn to start knitting the stitches on dpn#2...I knit three extra stitches onto the same needle with the stitches from dpn#1...I then just moved them/slid them onto the new blank as 'already knit' stitches.

You follow?