Old 05-02-2008, 12:25 AM   #1
Amanda89
Casting On

Hat Problems
I finished my first hat a few days ago and it turned out dreadful. I had trouble with the top of it. The sts wouldn't go all the way around my circulars so I decided that I should probably use dpn except that I have never used them before. My question is, because I have just begun a baby hat, is there any other way to finish a hat that was worked using circulars without having to use dpn? I bought a pair, but haven't figured out how to use them yet. Also, how do I decrease a ribbed pattern? I figured out how to decrease knit, but nothing else. I'm worried if I don't do it right, the hat will be a disaster. I'm CO 72 sts and working in a k3p3 pattern. Help would be greatly apreciated. Thanks!
Amanda89 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-02-2008, 02:43 AM   #2
Jints
Turning the Heel

There is a section here
http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/advanced-techniques
showing video's for 3 methods for doing 'small diameter circular' knitting. DPN, Magic loop and 2 circulars.
To make decreases for rib easier and more attractive the spiral decreases are good.
Place a marker before each decrease on first decrease round. (Its usually 8 per round) then on subsequent decrease rounds work them after each marker. it shifts the ribs over 1 st at a time and creates a tidy spiral effect. You don't need to worry about how to keep the rib sequence going.
This pattern MarsanCap shows it clearly with 4 lines but you will get a similar effect with the usual 6 or 8 dec lines.
Jints is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 05:11 AM   #3
tarrentella
Working the Gusset

I would agree with Jints, have a look at the 'small diameter' knitting videos on here. There are two methods of doing the small stuff without DPNs: Magic Loop and Two Circular Needles.