Old 05-19-2008, 07:17 PM   #1
Squirrel6s
Casting On

How to resize a pattern...
Hi everyone! I am new to knitting and this community... but here is my immediate question (which may be totally out of my league, but I thought I'd ask).

How do I make a pattern smaller? I've found a baby sweater pattern in an OLD Reader's Digest book and really want to make it, but for 3-6 month size instead. It starts with the bottom edge and a caston of 124 (6-9 months). Other patterns I've found for the smaller size range start with a caston of about 96. The pattern stitch isn't dependent on a certain multiple of stitches, so I don't think that really matters. Suggestions? I think I'm in over my head, but I haven't found a nice pattern for the smaller size that I really like!

Thanks ahead!
Susanne
Squirrel6s is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-19-2008, 08:04 PM   #2
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
It might help if we could see a picture of the sweater to see how difficult it would be to just leave out a few stitches. If you could take a digital picture of it and show us, that might help.

A question....what size yarn is it using? If the cast on is 124 stitches and that is just the back, it must be pretty small, but if it is the whole body (fronts and back) then the yarn could be bigger and maybe you could go to a smaller yarn weight and swatch it out and see what you'd get per inch and then using math figure out how big it would be at the new gauge. Then you could just make the sleeves and body a little shorter and be in business.....maybe. :-) Probably.

Also if you could show a picture, maybe someone knows of something similar in a small size.