Old 05-27-2008, 01:08 PM   #1
j4sstrom
Casting On

holding working yarn issue...
I'm a noob knitter, and seem to have run into an issue...

I am having a real problem holding tension on the working thread with my left hand. I've tried a few different combinations and can't get any to work... I've tried wrapping it around pinky, grasping against palm with ring and pinky, no luck. It's gotten to my having to step on the yarn with my foot to hold the tension! :-(

Has anyone else had issues with keeping tension using just your fingers? If so, how did you overcome it? Also, is the "method" I am currently using going to inhibit me in any way for more advanced techniques in the future?
j4sstrom is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-27-2008, 01:18 PM   #2
LovelyLinda
1st Leg of the Journey

You must be a continental knitter as I knit english style and hold the yarn in the my right hand.

You may want to look at the videos on this site in the getting started section and select the continental style for any of the videos. This may help.

Take care & good luck.

Linda
Old 05-27-2008, 01:35 PM   #3
j4sstrom
Casting On

Tried those actually, will try again tonight to see if anything "clicks" this time around. But if not, was really wondering if anyone used a technique that was "not the norm", so to speak...
j4sstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 02:57 PM   #4
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,750 Times in 7,120 Posts
I had a heck of a time keeping tension in my left hand, but when I switched to english knitting with it in my right hand it worked fine. I still have problems when I knit fair isle with both hands holding yarn.

To be honest I think it just takes time and practice no matter which method you use.

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~