Old 07-02-2008, 07:54 AM   #1
twoxover
1st Leg of the Journey

hitting the wall! way too frustrated...
remembering i am a beginner, with several scarves and dish clothes to my name <g>...

i started a sleaveless shell in plymouth margarita-which is a ribbon type yarn, with little dealy poppers on it <g>.....the pattern is a modified lace pattern (whcih i''m conveniently forgetting...something like knit 2together, make one, lather, rinse, repeat, and then the next row is purl 2together...)

anyway, i keep finding that i am not ending up iwht the correct number of stitches at the end of the rows. frustration does not begin to describe me <g>. because this is a summer top, i'm giving serious thought to putting it down (cause it does not appear to get done this year!) and starting something fall'ish that might be easier....

or, i could just leave the knitting at turnpike rest stop and claim that i lost it!

betsey
twoxover is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 07-02-2008, 08:05 AM   #2
Luvmyrottnboy
Knitting the Flap

Oh I know...my learning curve for garments was very, very long.

Instead of frustrating yourself by trying a lace pattern your first time out for a top, why not try a simple pattern?

After many, many, many tries my first successful sweater was a top down and once you get that first success, the sky's the limit

Knitting Pure and Simple (available on line at Web's and other on-line shops) patterns are perfect for a beginner. If you belong to Ravelry, there is a "top-down" group and you can find a ton of free patterns.

Good luck!

Denise

Mom to the late Cyrus the Fluffweiler CGC forever in my heart and James the Alpha cat
Luvmyrottnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Luvmyrottnboy For This Useful Post:
twoxover (07-02-2008)
Old 07-02-2008, 08:07 AM   #3
brittyknits
Turning the Heel