Old 11-10-2008, 05:45 PM   #1
Pandoradean
Casting On

Eyelash yarn - need help!!
I'm a beginner knitter (self-taught). I want to make a simple scarf using eyelash yarn. Am having difficulty -any hints on how to work with this kind of yarn? Or should I give up and return it? Have also tried crocheting but no luck. Thanks to anyone who can help me.
Pandoradean is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-10-2008, 06:06 PM   #2
stvteri88
Casting On

Hi Pandoradean. I don't know what kind of eyelash yarn you are using but I started working with LionBrand Fun Fur. I had to start out mixing the eyelash yarn with another yarn and used a size 35 needle until I got the hang of locating the stitches. You might have to practice this way before you venture on to just eyelash yarn. Another blending option is to hold one strand of eyelash with another novelty yarn such as Eros (or similar brand). This combination makes a delicate yet fun scarf. I'm not the most experienced knitter but I can tell you that you shouldn't give up. Good luck! I hope this reply helps.
stvteri88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 06:25 PM   #3
thepurplegg
Ribbing the Cuff

That kind of yarn is just kind of difficult to work with. I have to knit slower to make sure I see what I'm doing. I kind of twisted the eyelash part around the yarn as I knitted to make it thinner and easier to see, which resulted in a not as fluffy fabric. All I had to do was pick at it later to make all the fuz come out.

Good luck!! It's a bit of a hassle but it does make a really fun product at the end of it all
thepurplegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 09:47 AM   #4
MrsP
1st Leg of the Journey

Hi Pandoradean!!

I am a beginner knitter too, and I LOVE using the eyelash yarn. I have used several different kinds to make scarves and it took me a while to get used to it, but this is what I do -