Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2008, 10:31 AM   #1
figaro
Working the Gusset
 
figaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brantford, Ontario
Posts: 1,050
Thanks: 357
Thanked 170 Times in 143 Posts
Vista is messing with me and its making me mad
I wake up this morning and eventually turn on the computer and the tabs disappear when the cursor is not over the top of them. When I take it down off the tabs, the pages jumps down. The bottom bar is completely gone, it does not come up at all. Is this only me or has this happened to other people and is there any way to fix it?
__________________
Figaro, AKA Debbie



figaro
and also on Plurk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Let us so live that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry.

Mark Twain (1835 - 1910)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

figaro is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-15-2008, 10:53 AM   #2
Knitting_Guy
Grafting the Toe
 
Knitting_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Following the white rabbit
Posts: 4,992
Thanks: 2,318
Thanked 1,130 Times in 832 Posts
Is the problem in Firefox or some other application?
__________________
Mason

What do you mean guys don't knit?

Linux: because a PC is a terrible thing to waste.

Perfection is overrated. Knitting is meant to relieve stress, not cause it. Relax and enjoy it.

My boring blog http://masonm.joeuser.com

My knitting blog
http://knittingguy.blogspot.com/

My New Home Page (work in progress)
http://www.gpstrucker.000hosted.com

Knitting_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 10:55 AM   #3
figaro
Working the Gusset
 
figaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brantford, Ontario
Posts: 1,050
Thanks: 357
Thanked 170 Times in 143 Posts
I don't know, let me check to see if it is doing this with Explorer...Explorer is the normal one, if that ain't crazy....
__________________
Figaro, AKA Debbie



figaro
and also on Plurk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Let us so live that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry.

Mark Twain (1835 - 1910)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

figaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 11:04 AM   #4
figaro
Working the Gusset
 
figaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brantford, Ontario
Posts: 1,050
Thanks: 357
Thanked 170 Times in 143 Posts
if you go to http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox...re-newfeatures, there is a example of what the top portion of my screen used to look like

Okay, of course this is one of those times that I pressed a key and it all went back to normal and I have no idea why. I was watching a YouTube video of how to take a pic of my computer screen, the guy said to press the sys rq button to take the pic and my screen jumped then it all went back to normal?

Thanks Mason for trying to help me out here...
__________________
Figaro, AKA Debbie



figaro
and also on Plurk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Let us so live that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry.

Mark Twain (1835 - 1910)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

figaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 11:22 AM   #5
Knitting_Guy
Grafting the Toe
 
Knitting_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Following the white rabbit
Posts: 4,992
Thanks: 2,318
Thanked 1,130 Times in 832 Posts
Ok so you are talking about Firefox, that's what I needed to know. There are a couple of possibilities, including a graphics card related issue, but the first thing I would try is to go through the Firefox preferences and recheck/uncheck all of your preferences.

Once you do this and then click OK that should re-write the preferences file and reset everything back the way it was.

Don't forget to re-check/uncheck in the Advanced preferences tab. If something is already checked like you wanted just uncheck it and then re-check it.
__________________
Mason

What do you mean guys don't knit?

Linux: because a PC is a terrible thing to waste.

Perfection is overrated. Knitting is meant to relieve stress, not cause it. Relax and enjoy it.

My boring blog http://masonm.joeuser.com

My knitting blog
http://knittingguy.blogspot.com/

My New Home Page (work in progress)
http://www.gpstrucker.000hosted.com

Knitting_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 11:48 AM   #6
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Is that in Vista, the operating system, or in Internet Explorer? Check your preference settings, something might have got turned off.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:07 PM   #7
mks22300
Instepping Out
 
mks22300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Western New York
Posts: 2,127
Thanks: 200
Thanked 640 Times in 626 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mks22300
My problem with Vista or Microsoft or whatever is that it won't let me get any updates, keeps telling me that there is an unkown error, 80070570, when it tries to update. I can't find any solutions to the dumb thing
__________________
Addicted to:
Harry Potter, Knitting, LOTR, Star Wars, Lost, shoes, and CHOCOLATE!

I'm mks22300 at ravelry
mks22300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm SERIOUSLY messing something up SamIAm How-to Questions 5 10-16-2008 10:15 AM
Running VISTA...how much ram and processor speed needed?? Jan in CA The Lounge 16 04-16-2008 02:58 PM
Vista and the new SP1 service pack... figaro The Lounge 1 03-24-2008 05:28 PM
Anyone From Sierra Vista AZ donna100rs Knitters Knear You 0 12-22-2007 12:24 PM
Already messing up chie96 How-to Questions 8 02-27-2006 01:03 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 AM.