Old 12-31-2008, 04:05 PM   #1
Debbie27
Casting On

Newbie here with ??
Hope i'm posting in the right section.

I'm a newbie here, i dont even know how to knit but i want to learn.

I'm planning to take a class at our local Joanns. Anyone take classes there? Is it a good place to start?

My question is what supplies would i need to get started??

Any tips and/or advice would be appreciated.

Thank you.
Debbie27 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-31-2008, 04:13 PM   #2
RuthieinMaryland
Turning the Heel

Location: I live on the Eastern Shore of Maryland - GREAT steamed crab country! :o)
Starting to knit...
Hi, Debbie!

You've actually come to a great place to learn knitting already - right here on knitting help!

Up at the top of the site you'll see various categories like "Home", "Shop", "Patterns", etc.

Go to the one marked "View Videos" and put your cursor on it. There's a great section there on "getting started" and it will give you a neat push in the right direction. All you really need is some yarn (almost any type) and a pair of knitting needles. I'd suggest maybe an acrylic cheapie yarn with about a US size #8 or #9 straight needles. But see what Amy recommends in the videos.

There have been many folks who have learned to knit directly from this site, with the help of the other knitters in the forum. If nothing else, you'll be a little less mystified when you go for your class at JoAnne's!

Please let us know how it's going for you and write in if you have any questions meanwhile.

Happy knitting!

Ruthie
RuthieinMaryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 04:21 PM   #3
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,763 Times in 7,131 Posts
Hi and welcome to Knitting Help!!