Old 01-07-2009, 10:41 PM   #1
osmom
Casting On

New knitter question- circular or straight?
Hello everyone! I am new to knitting and I am wondering if it is easier to use circular needles or straight? What do you prefer and why? Thanks
Julie
osmom is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-07-2009, 10:47 PM   #2
KnitTogether
1st Leg of the Journey

Good question - each has its benefits... then the next question is what surface, metal, bamboo, plastic, etc.!

It is an individual thing, but I can say why I prefer circular needles:

1) The 'weight of the work' falls into my lap, and I can keep my arms down instead of my elbows out. Since I have back and neck problems, this is important for me, and reduces pain, and I am able to knit longer than I could if I were using straight needles.

2) With a circular needle, I always know where my "other needle" is, because it is attached.

3) Circular needles can be used for knitting in the round (such as socks, sweaters, mittens, hats, etc.), or for doing flat knitting. Whereas straight needles can only be used for knitting flat.

Those would be the 3 major reasons I prefer circular needles over straights.
KnitTogether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:55 PM   #3
tokmom
Turning the Heel

I ditto the above. I was scared of them at first, but now cringe when I have to use straights.

future plans: Afghan, baby blanket and a cabled...something ;hats and mittens to follow for kids.

Tokmom on Raverly
tokmom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tokmom For This Useful Post:
Marria (01-07-2009)
Old 01-07-2009, 11:04 PM   #4
Marria
Working the Gusset