Old 01-25-2009, 02:36 PM   #1
smoluvs2knit
Casting On

Help! Can you change circular needle sizes mid-project?
I started kntting a hat on circular needles 26" long. The pattern called for 16" long ones, but all I had were the 26" ones. Now the pattern says to join and knit in the round and now I realize my needles are too long to join! Can I transfer what I've knitted onto the correct size needles, and if so how do I do it??? I'm sure you've guessed by now that I am new to knitting, but loving it!
smoluvs2knit is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-25-2009, 02:48 PM   #2
TrishL1975
1st Leg of the Journey

Sure you can, if you have a needle the right size. Just take your right size needle and use it as your right needle for your next row. It helps if you have at least one more row before your join. OR you can join using your right-sized needle as your right hand needle (knit onto it) by sliding the end that DOESN'T have the working yarn to the working end of your current needle, double it over so that the working yarn is next to your new needle, and start knitting on to that....

I know I'm making this too complicated. One of the experts will be along shortly to make more sense of the hash I made. Me, I'm off to go get a set of DPNs - I'm casting on some wrist-warmers for my mom, and Magic Loop - ooooh, we hates it, Precious. Probably because my cable isn't long enough, and I'm fighting with it.

Basic Socks in Chili
Favorite Cardigan from Custom Knits in Patons Classic Wool in Black

FO: Baby Blanket in Antique White - no hood, moss green ribbon intertwined.
Fetching in Blue Dreamweave.
Hooded Cardi in Light Heather Gray.
TrishL1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:58 PM   #3
smoluvs2knit
Casting On