Old 02-14-2009, 06:05 PM   #1
LilyBart
Casting On

Confused about circular knitting video
I am a beginner who is doing the topographie hat from knitty.com. I have just cast on 108 stitches on double needle circular. The instructor in the video says that the yarn is on the right needle side, but the video seems to show it on the left. I tried looking at another video on YouTube, but that was even more confusing, and this one said "easy." Any help would be appreciated. Thanks~!

Last edited by LilyBart : 02-14-2009 at 06:06 PM. Reason: This question is not about casting on
LilyBart is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-14-2009, 06:29 PM   #2
MrsP
1st Leg of the Journey

Hi LilyBart!

Have you watched the circular knitting video on Knittinghelp? You can find it Here

After you finish casting on your stitches, you will need to position the stitches around the needles so that the working yarn end comes out on the right hand needle - then you will knit into the end stitch on the left hand needle.

I hope this helps!! :-)

OTN: fingerless gloves

I am MandaPen on Ravelry!!
MrsP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 06:58 PM   #3
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Yeah, sounds like you just need to turn the needles so the yarn is coming off the right hand needle.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 08:45 PM   #4
LilyBart
Casting On

Looked at knittinghelp.com video
Hi, Amanda. I guess I wasn't clear. It is the knittinghelp.com video that is ambiguous. She has the thread, both the tail and yarn, on the left, in her left hand, yet in her voiceover says it is on the right.

So should the yarn and tail and cast-on stitches supposed to all be on the left, even though I'm working to the right-hand needle?