Old 03-07-2009, 07:12 PM   #1
RainGirlLori
Casting On

Help w/Reading a pattern
I have a pattern for a little plush animal. I am a bit confused about the back and forth between knit and purl. I'm VERY new to knitting.

Some of the abbreviations used:
Inc1 = increase by working twice into the same st. first in the back then in the front
Slip1 = slip a stitch onto your needle without knitting it.

It starts this way:

Cast on 10 sts
Beg. With K & ss 2 rows
Inc1. In every st. = 20sts
P 1 row
Inc1. In every st. = 40sts
Beg With P & ss 5 rows
START
K35, turn and work on these stiches
Slip1, P28, turn again
Slip1, K29, turn again
Slip1, P30, turn
Slip1, K31, turn
Slip1, P32, turn
Slip1 and knit to the end including all stitches on your needle = 40sts
Next;
Beg with P & ss 5 rows
Increase again as before
from START to END
[...]

My main question is why the back and forth between knit and purl? Does this really make a difference in the end product, or is there another way to do it?

Secondly, what does "Increase again as before from START to END" mean in this case?

Thank you very much for your help!

Also, anyone happen to be in the Federal Way/Auburn, WA area who likes to help a newbie in exchange for a drink or cake?
RainGirlLori is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-07-2009, 07:20 PM   #2
Knit4Pie
Turning the Heel

What they want you to end with is stockinette stitch. When you're done, you will have one side with "v"s, and the other side will be little bumps.

Each stitch has two sides, the knit side and the purl side. When all the knit sides are on the same side, that is stockinette.

If you knit each row, you will end up with garter stitch, which is quite different in appearance.