Old 03-11-2009, 04:11 PM   #1
dustinac
2nd Sock, I Rock

Thanked 4,204 Times in 2,997 Posts
change..majacraft millie? for my birthday
My mom told me today that she and dad are getting me a spinning wheel for my birthday .

I'm a very big beginner and have tried hers once and couldn't get my feet and arms to work together. I ended up getting her wheel into a mess

Anyways she wanted me to ask on the forum if the Hitchhiker is a good wheel? Is there a better beginner out there (but I don't want them spending a lot at all so it has to be close to the hitchhikers price)...

She wanted to know if ya'll thought she should get a single treadle or double for a beginner since I had so much trouble with hers? And do you think if it is single that I should have a right or a left? One more question she had for you guys...do you know of an honest company selling them that could get it to me by the 12th of April (she will be up for my b-day and wants to get it set up for me and show how to use it)

She also likes the Hitchhiker 'cause it seems small enough that I could pack up when I go home to visit her...

Thank you for any tips

A Mountaineer Knitter's Blog

Last edited by dustinac : 03-12-2009 at 08:54 AM.
dustinac is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-11-2009, 08:22 PM   #2
Foxyie
Knitting the Flap

oh how nice to be getting a birthday wheel!

i have to say that i think it may be best to actually try out a few wheels..perhaps there is a spinning shop or guild in your area where you may be able to.

every wheel is different for every person.. so it's hard to say which would be best..single or double..left or right..it's what is most comfortable for you

i've heard many times though that double treadles are good for beginners..but i learned on a single and i love it.