Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2009, 03:44 PM   #1
prettylittlelie
1st Leg of the Journey
 
prettylittlelie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 148
Thanks: 20
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Intarsia v Fair Isle
Would argyle be considered intarsia.... or fair isle?

I'm not sure if I'm supposed to be stranding, or using bobbins
prettylittlelie is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-12-2009, 04:31 PM   #2
biztec
1st Leg of the Journey
 
biztec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winston-Salem
Posts: 175
Thanks: 89
Thanked 85 Times in 71 Posts
I did an argyle afghan in crochet and couldn't have survived without bobbins. I always considered it intarsia, but I'm no expert!!!! You can see my afghan under the crochet section. I would include a link here, but I don't know how!!
biztec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 05:27 PM   #3
Jan in CA
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Jan in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 37,285
Thanks: 1,677
Thanked 8,781 Times in 7,145 Posts
Argyle is done with intarsia and is done flat. Fair Isle is stranded and usually done in the round. It can be done flat, but it's easier in the round.
__________________
Jan

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jan in CA For This Useful Post:
ArtLady1981 (03-13-2009), biztec (03-13-2009)
Old 03-12-2009, 06:47 PM   #4
Mike
Working the Gusset
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 1,313
Thanks: 77
Thanked 387 Times in 289 Posts
Originally Posted by Jan in CA View Post
Argyle is done with intarsia and is done flat. Fair Isle is stranded and usually done in the round. It can be done flat, but it's easier in the round.
What about argyle socks?

How about entrelac?
__________________
Petroleum based knitter, removing that nasty oil from the ground one skein at a time.

YouTube channel
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 07:37 PM   #5
Jan in CA
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Jan in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 37,285
Thanks: 1,677
Thanked 8,781 Times in 7,145 Posts
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
What about argyle socks?
Most argyle socks are worked flat though the argyle section Then seamed at the end. I'm sure there are some that are done like fair isle and stranded, but that's not traditional argyle although the results could certainly be the same. I found a few free patterns that show what I mean.
http://www.socknitters.com/argyle/index.htm
http://www.freevintageknitting.com/s...s-pattern.html

Quote:
How about entrelac?
Ummm.. It can be done either way.
__________________
Jan

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 09:37 PM   #6
Ingrid
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Ingrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pleasant Valley, NY
Posts: 29,583
Thanks: 21
Thanked 2,243 Times in 1,838 Posts
Entrelac is neither. You use one color yarn for an entire "tier" of the knitting and then change for the next set of blocks.

If you worked argyle with stranding, you'd have an awfully thick fabric. I believe most are worked in intarsia, sometimes with the thin stripe that's in some done in duplicate stitch.
__________________
"Trust the pattern!"

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ingrid For This Useful Post:
ArtLady1981 (03-13-2009), biztec (03-13-2009)
Old 03-13-2009, 09:16 AM   #7
biztec
1st Leg of the Journey
 
biztec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winston-Salem
Posts: 175
Thanks: 89
Thanked 85 Times in 71 Posts
Originally Posted by Ingrid View Post
Entrelac is neither. You use one color yarn for an entire "tier" of the knitting and then change for the next set of blocks.

If you worked argyle with stranding, you'd have an awfully thick fabric. I believe most are worked in intarsia, sometimes with the thin stripe that's in some done in duplicate stitch.
I should have used duplicate stitch for the thin stripe on my crocheted argyle afghan, but I didn't know what I was doing! That stripe was the most tedious part for me.
biztec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:40 AM   #8
prettylittlelie
1st Leg of the Journey
 
prettylittlelie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 148
Thanks: 20
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
My first attempt
I somehow did a bobbins/stranding mixture


heh
prettylittlelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 10:46 AM   #9
biztec
1st Leg of the Journey
 
biztec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winston-Salem
Posts: 175
Thanks: 89
Thanked 85 Times in 71 Posts
Originally Posted by prettylittlelie View Post
My first attempt
I somehow did a bobbins/stranding mixture


heh
I did the same thing. I stranded my major background color and used bobbins for all the rest. As it was I had about 40 bobbins hanging off at a time; if I hadn't stranded the background, who knows how many there would have been!
biztec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 02:54 PM   #10
prettylittlelie
1st Leg of the Journey
 
prettylittlelie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 148
Thanks: 20
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Exactly what I did! It didn't look poorly or anything. It just took me a bit to not pull it too tight.
prettylittlelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help with Intarsia...or is it Fair Isle? lisak How-to Questions 4 09-24-2008 04:36 PM
Fair Isle or Intarsia? Crycket General Knitting 5 06-19-2008 11:46 AM
Which to Use: Fair Isle or Intarsia? rebelmuffin How-to Questions 2 08-12-2007 10:44 AM
How to start Intarsia or Fair Isle Knittens How-to Questions 1 11-18-2005 10:11 PM
Intarsia/Fair Isle Norman How-to Questions 14 11-04-2005 08:01 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:48 PM.