Old 03-18-2009, 10:49 PM   #1
hheartstrongg

this hat is KILLING me. i am so stuck.
i have already had so many problems with this hat and now there is another one;

so, i decided to do less stitches than before since the previous hat was too big, so i measured it all out and everything but when i do the rows for the ribbing, it gets bigger, a lot bigger. is this because of the needles i'm using? if i used smaller needles would it not stretch out so much?
i'm using size 10.5 and i also have size 5 needles.

when i measure the 10.5 needles they are 5mm but so are my other needles but they're noticeably different size.

wtf is going on!!!! why do i suck at this so much

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-18-2009, 11:23 PM   #2
TEMA
Turning the Heel

Hmmmm....
I'm rather new to all this but I'll take a chance...
It seems to me that if, when you are ribbing, your hat gets bigger, it is because you are knitting one and then purling one.
When you purl, your knitting gets looser. You might just try tightening up your purls a bit and maybe that will help.
Are you doing the hat on circulars or straight?
TEMA
TEMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 11:25 PM   #3
hheartstrongg

i'm doing it on circulars, but i'm not knitting in the round. i'm doing it on circulars because the needles are a bigger size than my straight needles.

maybe i could change the ribbing to a nice braided pattern like in another hat i own? would that maybe be tighter? i think you're right in thinking that it stretches cuz of the p1 k1.. i'm new to this as well haha but that sounds right.
Old 03-18-2009, 11:26 PM   #4
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Ribbing lookes bigger than it ends up when you're on the first few rows. I'd wait till you get it done and an inch or so of the stockinette added. Then measure it and decide if it's too big.