Old 03-19-2009, 08:42 PM   #1
merri
Casting On

Gifts of Knitted Items
Would anyone care to discuss how you present a gift to someone of a knitted garmet or other item? For instance, do you take a photo of it first? Do you give the recipient one of the ball bands and/or instructions on caring for the item? Do you keep a record of the size needles and swatch of the yarn or? Just wondering what others do, etc. Thanks! From a 'somewhat' newbie here....

Merri
merri is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-19-2009, 09:08 PM   #2
globaltraveler
Turning the Heel

I have always taken pics, and if it's not a casual gift but something special, I give them a ball band or instructions so they can care for it properly, yes. With knitting, I plan to post it on my Rav account so I have the info on needles, yarn, etc.

When i was regularly sewing wedding gowns, I used to buy an extra yard of fabric and lace, and would wait to see if they had a baby while they were still in my ken...and then I'd make a christening gown out of the fabric!

OTN: Eyelet Chemise in Handmaiden Sea Silk (colorway: Midnight). Still. And a purple Donegal Tweed set of fingerless mitts, to try out my new Hiya Hiya interchangeable needles.

Latest FO: A shrug for an Anthropologie swap in beautiful Casbah sock yarn, in Cedar, a dark green semi-solid, my own pattern. Also a quick Noro Silk Garden neckwarmer for my friend Aideen, in a vine lace pattern.

My knitting blog, Another Long Yarn
globaltraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 09:27 PM   #3
vaknitter
Working the Gusset

I try to remember to take pictures, but typically forget. I've found not too many of the people I gift knitted item too will read the ball band so instead of that I attach a small tag to the item that says something along the lines of "Item handknit for Suzy Q by Suzy T and is hand washable only."