Old 04-14-2009, 11:33 AM   #1
pbs
1st Leg of the Journey

Baby yarn question
What does "DK" mean when it says something like "Comfort DK"? Also what is "fingering weight"? I'm doing a small blankie and I started it with Comfort yarn, but it seems too "blobby" and "big" for a baby--I like neat stitches, all perfectly lined up and the Comfort isn't getting it. My LYS told me it would take me forever to make one using smaller tighter yarn, but I'm not having fun with this big unravely stuff. Any suggestions for Miss Neatnick here? BTW, I'm a beginner, so it's only garter stitch.
pbs is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-14-2009, 11:58 AM   #2
sweetiekxx
Ribbing the Cuff

DK stands for double knit and is the weight of the yarn, it is thicker than fingering weight yarn. See http://www.yarnstandards.com/weight.html for a list of the yarns weights. Fingering weight yarn is a bit thin for making blankets I think. Next time your in your LYS get a ball of DK and compare it to the comfort yarn your using now to get an idea of how much thinner it is. Find out the gauge of the yarn your using (how many stitches per area with xx size needles) it should say on the label. Are you using the recommended needle size for the comfort yarn?
sweetiekxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 11:59 AM   #3
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,763 Times in 7,131 Posts
DK, also known as light worsted is a weight of yarn. Here's a chart -
http://www.yarnstandards.com/weight.html

Comfort comes in worsted or DK weight. I've made a couple baby sweaters with Comfort worsted in garter stitch. It is a very splitty yarn, but it's really soft and I liked the way the stitches came out. What size needle are you using?

Baby yarn seems to be about sport to DK weight usually. Fingering is what sock yarn is.

Here are links to the most recent one I did so you can see how the yarn looks-