Old 04-15-2009, 04:23 AM   #1
yelppuppy
Casting On

Knit :) and :D smiles? (newbie here)
This is a two-fold question. I'm really new at knitting so please let me know if my question doesn't make sense:

I'm knitting a doll similar to the pic below. Now I'd like to add a mouth similar to that. How do you suppose the mouth is knitted? I think in this picture it's a one-row button hole? I tried one myself but his smile looked more like :| than : ) so I'm not sure if one-row buttonhole is the answer.

Say i'd like the smile to be bigger like this :D, so I'm thinking about doing something like a sweater's neckline to his lower lip. From what I read, I need to use two balls and and rest half of the stitches and work in two batches. But then I can't imagine how to join the upper lip part again. (I knit from neck edge up).
yelppuppy is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-15-2009, 08:09 AM   #2
tarrentella
Working the Gusset

oh that's so cute!
I think the mouth is actually a little pocket. See how you can sort of see into it (i think there is even a tongue in there!). What i would do then is when i got to where i wanted the mouth to start i would start knitting with a scrap piece of yarn (something in a contrast colour that will slip out easily late). I would knit for the length i wanted the mouth to be and the swtich back to my normal yarn and carry on knitting as if i had done nothing. Then when i was finished that head i would go back and pull out the stitches in the waste yarn.
That would leave me to sections of 'live stitches' above and below an opening. I would then pick up these stitches in the round and would knit a small tube or pocket (probably justa few rows of knit an then a couple of decrease rows and bing off). This then gets tucked inside the head, creating the mouth.