Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2009, 02:03 AM   #1
Casting On
emeraldee's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What would you do?
I just stared knitting, and I'm working on a beret (me second project only)! I thought I casted on 60 double strand stiches but I have 59 (only 9 rows up) and I can't see any dropped stitches, so I must have done something wrong somewhere! The next step is to pearl two together and after that I'll be splitting it so there will be 120 stitches.

So do you think I should unravel and start over, add a stitch, find a way to work around it or look harder for the dropped stitch and pick up the rows?

I would love any advice! Thanks in advance!
emeraldee is offline   Reply With Quote


This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-01-2009, 06:21 AM   #2
Instepping Out
Mirl56's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 2,298
Thanks: 455
Thanked 721 Times in 671 Posts
A link to the pattern, if possible, would be helpful, even just a link to a photo of the project.

But here are my thoughts. Make real sure there isn't a dropped stitch somewhere. If you're sure there isn't, I'd leave it be cause one stitch difference isn't going to affect the size and no one will ever know you cast on 59 instead of 60.

What confuses me, though, is if you cast on 60, then eventually P2 tog, you'd have 59 stitches. If the next step doubles that up to 120 -well, as math challenged as I can be most of the time that just doesn't seem to work. That is mainly why I'd like to see the pattern.

Mirl56 at Ravelry, too.

Learn from the mistakes of others. You canít live long enough to make them all yourself. Eleanor Roosevelt

Lady Feb Sweater
more shawlettes, socks
Mirl56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 01:30 PM   #3
Casting On
emeraldee's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Here is a link to the project:
emeraldee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 01:34 PM   #4
Instepping Out
Arielluria's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 2,972
Thanks: 490
Thanked 414 Times in 309 Posts
If it doesn't screw up the pattern, I would simply make a stitch by putting left needle under yarn (like a YO) and then knit in the BACK of the stitch, that twists it so you don't get a hole like a YO.
A righteous man has regard for the life of his animal (Proverbs 12:10)

Free patternns on My blog or on Ravelry:
Arielluria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 01:06 AM   #5
Sock Yarn Bliss
Shandeh's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 16,367
Thanks: 4,369
Thanked 2,848 Times in 1,912 Posts
I always just add another stitch on my current row if I see that one is missing from the cast on.

Now, if I dropped a stitch, I would fix that.
Shandeh is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 PM.