Old 05-17-2009, 05:24 PM   #1
gundogirl
Casting On

New- What is (RS): Knit or Purl on WS
I'm new to kniting and to this forum. I have a pattern which says after casting on:

Rows 1-6 knit
Row 7 (RS): knit
Row 8 Purl
Continue St st (k on RS, p on WS) until piece measures 10 in.

My question- I thought there was only one way to do a knit and purl stitch. Does RS and WS mean I turn my work?

I'm looking forward to learning a lot from this forum- Thank you!
gundogirl is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-17-2009, 05:33 PM   #2
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,729 Times in 7,102 Posts
RS and WS mean right side and wrong side. When you are knitting stockinette (purl one row, knit one row repeating) the right side is usually the side with the v's..or the knit side.

And yes, you will be turning your work. You do only knit stiches on both side for the first 6 rows. After that you knit one row, then purl one row.

If you have a link it will help. Also... the edges will curl because you have no border except for the bottom. Only way to stop that is to have a border of 5 stitches or so on each side in a non curling stitch such as garter or seed stitch.

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jan in CA For This Useful Post:
gundogirl (05-17-2009)
Old 05-17-2009, 05:42 PM   #3
gundogirl
Casting On

Thank you - here is the link to the pattern
I'm attempting this playdate hoodie and here is the link-

http://www.lionbrand.com/cgi-bin/pat...=29&submit.y=9

I will try your suggestions thank you!

Tracy
Old 05-17-2009, 05:45 PM   #4
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
Hi, and welcome to KH forum.