Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2009, 08:44 PM   #1
McKnitty
Turning the Heel
 
McKnitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 544
Thanks: 323
Thanked 170 Times in 153 Posts
Hat w/ Stripes In The Round
I've done stranded knitting, and I know how to carry yarn up the side, but I'm having trouble with carrying the yarn up while knitting in the round.

I'm knitting a hat with stripes (2 colors, tan and black) and when I change colors I am carrying the nonworking yarn up the "side" (the beginning of the round) the same as I would at the end of a row (working yarn goes under the nonworking yarn). However, ever so often the nonworking yarn color shows through the stripe.

Is there anything I can do? Is it maybe because there is such a contrast between the two colors? I've tried searching online, but all I can find is what I'm already doing.
__________________
~Knit for Charity~
"that their hearts may be encouraged, being knit together in love" - Col. 2:2



TXMcKnitty on Ravelry
McKnitty is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-22-2009, 10:27 PM   #2
ittybittypretty
1st Leg of the Journey
 
ittybittypretty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 123
Thanks: 22
Thanked 34 Times in 32 Posts
Are you making sure to twist the strands around each other as you change to the new color?
ittybittypretty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 11:03 PM   #3
McKnitty
Turning the Heel
 
McKnitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 544
Thanks: 323
Thanked 170 Times in 153 Posts
Originally Posted by ittybittypretty View Post
Are you making sure to twist the strands around each other as you change to the new color?

Yes, but the problem isn't at the color change. The nonworking yarn is carried for 3 more rounds after the color change, so those rounds are where the nonworking yarn's color peeks out through the stripe.

At the beginning stitch of the round, I bring the working yarn under the nonworking yarn (as if carrying up the side in flat knitting). I've tried doing it every row, and then tried every 2 rows (which was what one website suggested), but have the same results.
__________________
~Knit for Charity~
"that their hearts may be encouraged, being knit together in love" - Col. 2:2



TXMcKnitty on Ravelry
McKnitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 01:07 AM   #4
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe
 
MerigoldinWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,143
Thanks: 1,177
Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
I am not always happy with the result when trying to carry yarns up in circular knitting. If I want it to turn out real nicely I usually break the yarn instead of carrying it.

When I get to the last round before the color change I often hold the yarn up along the holding needle and work under and over the yarn I will be using for about an inch and a half to two inches. Then when I get to the color change I clip the old yarn and hold it up and work over its tail the same way I did the first one. This may show through too if the yarns are very contrasting. If that is the case I wouldn't try to work over the yarn, but change where I would just work the two tail yarns into their own colors when I'm done.
__________________
MerigoldinWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stripes in the round help alayna How-to Questions 1 05-19-2011 08:07 PM
Stripes in the round.. GinnyG How-to Questions 7 12-02-2009 01:22 PM
knitting stripes in the round sharay How-to Questions 2 02-27-2009 09:15 PM
vertical stripes in the round sonny How-to Questions 4 09-27-2008 01:28 AM
Knitting in the round - stripes angela How-to Questions 3 08-12-2007 01:53 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 AM.