Old 07-29-2009, 07:35 PM   #1
ode2joy14
Casting On

sizing
hi, I have completed three sweaters now and one tank top and all but one are way too big for me. Can anyone help me figure out what I am doing wrong? I have checked my gauge under the supervision of my favorite knitting shop (the girls there are very helpful). I have followed all their instructions. I took one completed item in and they said well you'll just have to take it out and decrease here and there to make it smaller. But I am not a designer and am not good at figuring out how to tweak my patterns. why doesn't my sweater end up with the proper measurements and be about 3 sizes bigger than the pattern says when I have the correct gauge? I'm so frustrated.
ode2joy14 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 07-29-2009, 07:46 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
It could be the yarn, some of them stretch and grow. You should wash and block the gauge square the same as the FO, and even hang it when dry to mimic being worn. Or you may be knitting the wrong size. Many people overestimate their size and think a sweater needs to be at least their bust size or larger. But if you measure one that fits you the way you like, you may find that it's actually a little smaller than you measure. That's called negative ease and a lot of tops look really good when knit with about 2" negative ease.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 08:02 PM   #3
ode2joy14
Casting On

thank you for your reply, I always knit the smallest size available. I usually wear a medium sized top but I always knit the small or extra small if available.
I think your idea of yarn stretching makes alot of sense. But how do we compensate for that? How do I know which yarns stretch?