Old 08-06-2009, 10:13 PM   #1
sillaryhue
Casting On

Help reading lace shawl pattern
I'm a little confused with the enlish mesh lace pattern and also the horseshoe lace pattern. It says it is multiples of 6 plus 1 st for edging. Does that edging stitch include the multiples of 6 or do you need to add the edging on top. Like in this pattern you cast on 24 and then knit a row and then do the english mesh lace pattern, so do I need to add 2 more stitches for the edging or is it included in the 24?

I'm also a little confused on the increase. There are two sections about it and I really just need it in lamen terms. I'm still kinda new at this but easy patterns are getting easy so I wanted to try something harder and I think I might have picked something too hard but it is just so beautiful I really want to make it work. Thanks for the help

(here is the pattern)

http://elann.com/ShowFreePattern.asp?Id=111024
sillaryhue is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 08-07-2009, 12:28 AM   #2
mwhite
Instepping Out

Originally Posted by sillaryhue View Post
I'm a little confused with the enlish mesh lace pattern and also the horseshoe lace pattern. It says it is multiples of 6 plus 1 st for edging. Does that edging stitch include the multiples of 6 or do you need to add the edging on top. Like in this pattern you cast on 24 and then knit a row and then do the english mesh lace pattern, so do I need to add 2 more stitches for the edging or is it included in the 24?

I'm also a little confused on the increase. There are two sections about it and I really just need it in lamen terms. I'm still kinda new at this but easy patterns are getting easy so I wanted to try something harder and I think I might have picked something too hard but it is just so beautiful I really want to make it work. Thanks for the help

(here is the pattern)

http://elann.com/ShowFreePattern.asp?Id=111024