Old 08-18-2009, 11:14 AM   #1
letsknit
Ribbing the Cuff

K1, P1?
I am new to knitting and have been practising for the past few weeks. I feel good about the knit and the purl stitches, but when ever I try to K1, P1, it doesn't come out right. I end up with extra loops on my needle. Can someone help me out should I be putting the yarn in back/front of the needle with the respective stitches? Thanks for any advice.
letsknit is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 08-18-2009, 11:21 AM   #2
Lisa R.
Turning the Heel

Yes, you move the yarn to the front for a purl stitch, and back again for the knit stitch. Move the yarn between the needles.

I'm Knittermom9 on Ravelry
Lisa R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 03:28 PM   #3
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
I second what Lisa wrote - move the yarn between the needles, not over them.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 06:22 PM   #4
yarndolly
Ribbing the Cuff

Originally Posted by letsknit View Post
I am new to knitting and have been practising for the past few weeks. I feel good about the knit and the purl stitches, but when ever I try to K1, P1, it doesn't come out right. I end up with extra loops on my needle. Can someone help me out should I be putting the yarn in back/front of the needle with the respective stitches? Thanks for any advice.