Old 09-20-2009, 11:44 AM   #1
Jessica Cobb
Ribbing the Cuff

Send a message via AIM to Jessica Cobb
Question about charts and mittens
Hi guys! I've been in a knitting funk for quite some time. I haven't been on here in months, and I used to browse the forums daily. So I'm filled with questions!

I have a friend at work who wants me to knit her a pair of mittens with a skull/skulls on them. She said she would find something she liked and show me. She showed me these two charts - one and two. My issue is that I've never worked with a color chart like this before. I'm kind of backwards in the way that I've learned to knit. I've done tons of charts with difficult lace and socks, but never a color chart. I guess it's somewhat the same, but how do I know that the pattern will fit the mitten? The first one is her favorite, but it seems too large to fit on the mitten.

Any help or suggestions?

Jessica Cobb is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-20-2009, 12:11 PM   #2
sandy57th
Knitting the Flap

The smaller skull in the red chart is 15 sts across. The larger red one is 25 sts across and the chart 1 is 35 sts across (the one she really likes).

For an adult mitten, about 8" around the hand is allowed, so in worsted wool, (about 4 sts per inch), the chart will be almost half the hand, the top half, so it will work. For the other 2 charts, you would need to work with a very fine yarn, something that gets about 9" across. So a very thin sock yarn. But that doesn't make for a very warm mitten. So I'd go with the smallest chart. Maybe a scarf to match with the chart 1 design at the ends? Depending on how good a friend she is, you might want to stop at the mittens:-).