Old 09-29-2009, 08:19 AM   #1
Summergale
Casting On

Standard way to work out needle size?
Hello! I am new to knitting and I knitted a hat, which turned out to be far too big for me. I have a small head and want to try another pattern. This pattern says "fits average lady" and states size 5mm (US size 8) needles. What size of needles should I use to get a smaller fit? Is there a standard way to work out the size of needles required or is it simply a guess? Thanks in advance.
Summergale is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-29-2009, 08:56 AM   #2
MMario
Turning the Heel

You may or may not at this point have heard people talking about "swatching". Swatching is making a sample knit piece - usually about the size of a wash cloth - and then checking you stitches per inch and rows per inch with that yarn and needle size. The results are your personal gauge. How that differs from the gauge of the pattern will tell you if your item will be larger, smaller or the same size.

Last edited by MMario : 09-29-2009 at 09:54 AM.
MMario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 09:22 AM   #3
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
You can try 6s and see if that works, or you can try 6s and thinner yarn. That should do it. But it's a good idea to always figure out how many sts/inch you get for every project, that way you can make your own hat patterns to fit. Take your head measurement less 2" and multiply it times the sts/inch. That should give you the number of stitches to cast on.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 09:33 AM   #4
sandy57th
Knitting the Flap