Old 10-18-2009, 05:06 PM   #1
boyforpele13
Turning the Heel

Send a message via AIM to boyforpele13 Send a message via MSN to boyforpele13 Send a message via Yahoo to boyforpele13
Help with EZ baby sweater (and basic ?)
Hi everyone!

Haven't started a new project in a REALLY long time, just trying to get back into the swing and I have 2 questions about the Baby Sweater On Two Needles, Practically Seamless from the Knitter's Almanac. This is my first time trying to work an E.Z. pattern so I'm a little baffled on a couple things.

1) You cast on 50 sts and then do inc rows that is just a K2, M1 row every 8 rows or so. My concern is now on my needles, the 30 or so rows (after 2 increase rows) are now sort of C shaped... I don't yet understand the construction of the sweater (is this the collar?) figured it would come to me as it grew, but I'm concerned that I maybe cast on too tightly and the first few rows are tighter than the others from my jumping back in zeal and that is why it's making a C shape, but then I'm thinking maybe it's the increases doing that.... help?

2) After increases are done, buttonholes come in. The pattern merely states, "Change to pattern... and putting in buttonholes (YO, K2tog) about every 8th ridge. That's it.... which side do I put them on and, since I've never done a buttonhole, would that be done over the very last 2 stitches or do you use the last or first 4 and do the yo, k2tog, k2 or something?

3) The last part, "Place remaining 92 sts on the needle, knitting up 4 x 7 sts at the cast-on sleeve sts.... clueless... I know where the 92 sts are coming from but what is "knit up 4 x 7"?

I used to find myself quite proficient in reading patterns, don't know if it's my time away or just the style of this one, but I am feeling pretty green. :(

Thanks in advance!!!

Share Your Life With a Deaf Dog!