Old 11-06-2009, 04:14 AM   #1
cheekymunky
Casting On

Send a message via Yahoo to cheekymunky
Need help please learning the basic knit stitch. I'm left handed
Hi, I'm just learning how to knit and the kit I bought hoping to help me learn has extremely difficult diagrams. I ended up having to go online and looking videos on how to cast on, which I'm pretty sure I have down pat but it's the next step of learning the basic knit stitch I'm having extreme difficulty with. I've looked up videos and they moved way to fast for me to really see what they were doing. I'm left handed which is making it more difficult because I have to do everything opposite from what I'm told. I've even tried doing it right handed and I just can't figure it out. If anyone has any advice, pointers or anything they can refer to me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for listening!
cheekymunky is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-06-2009, 05:06 AM   #2
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
I went looking for information about left hand knitting, but didn't find anything that was very clear to me. It is 1:00 a.m. and I can't keep looking. I know you said you have tried right handed, but did you try the Continental method? Some folks say it is easier for lefties. One of my daughters is a leftie and she knits this way. I found a discussion about teaching a left handed person to knit at this link. I thought the bottom comment about adapting Continental for a left handed person to be interesting, and might help. This article in Knitty was also about left handed knitters. There was a link there that was supposed to have more but it didn't work.

I'm not much help, and I'm sorry about that. I wish someone could show you in person, that would probably be best.
Old 11-06-2009, 10:35 AM   #3
Daylilydayzed
Turning the Heel