Old 11-13-2009, 03:02 AM   #1
Dari
Ribbing the Cuff

Thoughts on "Knitlite" needles?
I'm a theatre technician (which means I run around in black backstage of shows making sure the actors don't break anything/run into anything/die a horrible death via things falling on them), and most of the downtime I have in the theatre is in darkness. So yesterday while on one of my many forays into my local Michael's, I found a pair of needles that allows me to knit in the dark. They have little LED lights in the tips that you can turn on and off, and they make it surprisingly easy to knit in total darkness.

Has anyone else used them? What do you think of them? How well do they hold up under repeated use? They're made out of somewhat flimsy plastic, so I'm afraid to use them too much for fear that I'll break them. But they do make my downtime backstage useful!

"As an artist, the only thing I have to offer is the revelation of my soul."
-Eleonora Duse

I knit because sometimes it's the only way to keep from strangling stupid people.
Dari is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-13-2009, 12:56 PM   #2
melmac51
Turning the Heel

I bought some just for fun...and a couple of crochet lite hooks for a friend of mine for her birthday. We sat in our little lunchroom in the dark, knitting and crocheting away, and giggling like two little girls. I haven't tried anything big on them though.

Old 11-13-2009, 02:01 PM   #3
ajsgramma
Ribbing the Cuff

I've knit a couple of scarves with mine & they were fun. You can just light one needle & always remember which row you're on. (kind of like knitting with two different color needles)
The lights are really bright. If the power goes out you have a flashlight in your knitting bag! My grandson thinks they're cool.
(((HUGS))) Verna
ajsgramma is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ajsgramma For This Useful Post: