Old 01-11-2010, 05:09 PM   #1
shaylen12
Casting On

Whats Better???
Bamboo Needles or Metal??I have the metal ones right now and some Bamboo ones coming....which do you like best and do i need to do anything to the bamboo ones before i use them?

I'm new at the needle thing...when i first started knitting about a year ago i just went down and bought the cheap ones but now im told that the bamboo is better and easier to use.

Whats you opinion!!
shaylen12 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-11-2010, 05:12 PM   #2
Crycket
Working the Gusset

Send a message via Skype™ to Crycket
It is all preference...

But mine is actually my harmony wood ones right now.

I haven't enjoyed bamboo cause it seems every set I have owned has ended up catching the yarn at the tip at one period or another...

I do like metal, but it is nothing but nickel plated for me! no going back to Susan Bates...and NEVER boye!!!

Growing old is mandatory, growing UP is optional!
Crycket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 05:29 PM   #3
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
It depends on the yarn and the individual knitter. Some people hate bamboo and wouldn't use them, others love it and wouldn't use anything else. Stickier yarns do bettern on metal, slick yarns are better on wood. Thin yarns like laceweight and sock are probably better on wood. Get a pair of inexpensive bamboo and try them out.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 05:46 PM   #4
gotta knit
Knitting the Flap

There is no better, it's totally a personal preference sort of thing.