Old 02-26-2010, 07:56 PM   #1
slatour
Casting On

Need help - Trying to knit baby layette cardigan from Knitting for Dummies
I am absolutely confused by this pattern, and its supposed to be easy! I am just learning to knit and have done the booties and hat already, so I'd like to get the matching cardigan done.

You can google these instructions and find the compete instructions if you need to see them to help me. It starts on page 288, but my problem area is on page 289.

The instructions say to cast on 50 sts and then knit in garter to 9 inches, which I have done with no problem. Then it says after this,
Row 1: knit 30 and turn. Row 2: Bind off 15 sts k to end of row. (This is to shape the neck to create shoulders).

My question is, what do I do after I turn after the 30 sts in row 1, I am in the middle of the row at this point? Do I immediately start the row 2 instructions and bind of 15? I didn't think you could start a new row in the middle of an existing row.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much.
slatour is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-26-2010, 08:13 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Yes, you turn and BO the sts and knit to the end of the row. Probably the row after that will have you cast on stitches and knit the sts that got left behind before.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to suzeeq For This Useful Post:
slatour (02-27-2010)
Old 02-27-2010, 08:45 AM   #3
slatour
Casting On

Originally Posted by suzeeq View Post
Yes, you turn and BO the sts and knit to the end of the row. Probably the row after that will have you cast on stitches and knit the sts that got left behind before.