Old 02-28-2010, 06:36 PM   #1
newknitter316
Casting On

circular or DPNs for a hat pattern
Hi! I have only knit 2 very basic scarves, and now I'd like to try some more difficult things, but I've never used a pattern before. I'd really like to try this hat:

http://www.jimmybeanswool.com/freeKn...ySlouchHat.asp

But I'm confused - it says I need both circular and double pointed needles, but not when to use them. Which do I start with and when do I switch?

I *think* I can figure the rest of it out. That's just the part I'm most confused by right now.

Please help! Thanks!
newknitter316 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-28-2010, 06:44 PM   #2
kmaclean
Turning the Heel

You start the hat by casting on using the circular needles, and switch to the DPNs when shaping the crown of the hat. The pattern doesn't seem to specify when to switch, so it likely doesn't matter ... I would switch to the DPNs once I had decreased to the point where it was getting difficult to use the circulars. DPNs are much easier when knitting a small circumference in the round and will make it much easier to finish the top of the hat once you are down to a few stitches.

Good luck!
kmaclean is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kmaclean For This Useful Post:
newknitter316 (02-28-2010)
Old 02-28-2010, 10:09 PM   #3
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Once the number of stitches gets too small to fit comfortably around the circular, you switch to the dpns. Or add a 2nd circ and use both, or use a longer one and magic loop with it.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 03:40 AM   #4
AngelaR
Turning the Heel

I usually use DPNs to start out and finish, I put it on a 16" circ once I've done the first row of increases.
OTN: Writer's Cardigan
OTN: Hats!
http://www.ravelry.com/people/ARichter