Old 03-14-2010, 01:25 PM   #1
Bumpkin
Casting On

How to read this pattern diagram for Cable baby hat?
I am quite new at knitting but throwing myself in the deep end and trying a knitted Baby Hat with a Cable design from Garn studio.

http://www.garnstudio.com/lang/en/vi...d_id=5&lang=en

I was getting along ok thanks to the help from this forum But now for the cable part I have to follow a diagram and I am confused about how I do this. Do I start following each diagram from the bottom right ?
I do one line of the diagram but when it comes to the next line of the diagram, do I start from the left or right?!! I am making the smallest size and the pattern says P3, M.2... (M.2 is one of the diagrams). I presume I have to do the entire box of stiches shown in M.2, it just seems like I will have so many stiches by the time I have done all the sts they say, seems more than I have on my needle to start with (100)?!
Oh I'm puzzled!
I do hope someone can help me out
Catherine
Bumpkin is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-14-2010, 02:07 PM   #2
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
Since you are working in the round you work all the charts from right to left on every round. Start at the bottom of each chart and work up just as you'd knit.

This is what your pattern says once you have your 100 sts and are ready to begin the charts:

Quote:
P 3, M.2, P 6, M.3, P 6, M.2, P 6, M.2, P 6, M.3, P 6, M.2, P 3.
I took out all the numbers that refer to the other sizes. When I work Drops patters I like to copy and paste the pattern in a Word document and edit out the numbers that don't apply to my size. It really cuts down on confusion.

So here is what you do on this first round: