Old 03-22-2010, 02:06 PM   #1
jeabenne
Casting On

Strange problem, please help
Hello,

I am a beginner knitter (again). I have tried knitting off and on for years, but a werid problem has always discouraged me and I end up giving it up. I have been knitting solid for the last three days, looking at hours of videos on the internet, scouring blogs and forums and have found nothing to help me with this problem, and I'm about to quit yet again.

My problem is this: I will be knitting along, following my pattern (basically it is knit 2 rows, purl 1 and repeat this over and over). After about 10 rows, I will look down at my work and there will be a section of knitting where the wrong side is on the right side- basically, it is as if I get my sides reversed. I'm focusing on how exactly I knit and purl, I'm making sure to keep the yarn in the back for knitting and in the front for purlling, and I'm making sure I put the yarn over the needle the right way (counter clockwise in both knnit and purl). However, it happens over and over again. If I keep going, it will inevitably happen again, so that instead of having a right side and a wrong side, my knitting has sections of right side on the right side, but also sections of wrong side on the right side. What is this called? Can anyone tell me what i'm doing wrong?

Please help! I'm about to give up again. It is so frustrating. I've been trying to learn how to knit for 15 years!
jeabenne is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-22-2010, 02:17 PM   #2
Abby123
Knitting the Flap

Most likely reason is that you are changing direction in the middle of the work. One way to overcome this, is to remember, the stitches you just made sit on the right needle. So if you set your knitting down & come back. Tug on the working yarn. It should be attached to the stitches on your right needle. If not, flip the work over.