Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2010, 08:37 AM   #1
Instepping Out
WandaT's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,033
Thanks: 293
Thanked 1,480 Times in 1,442 Posts
LYS "class" ...
Would you be frustrated?

Several of us from my S&B group signed up to take this shawl class. One of the ladies there designed it. The only way to get the pattern is to take the class - 2 classes - total $30. Normally, I find that price just fine. First off our "teacher" was a good 45 min late to the class - said she thought it started 30 min later than it did plus she got caught in traffic. We handled it well with no "tudes." Then she/they couldn't find the "corrected" pattern so we got a copy of one with hand written corrections.

When we finally got around to starting it was a basic CO with basic increases until we got to the different techniques of dividing our stitches (for double knitting I think it's called) for a "pocket," then more increasing and finally short-rowing. By the time we completed the basic beginning and we needed help, it was time to leave. Now she didn't end the class so to speak - said we could stay and work. But I didn't plan on being there over 3 hrs for the class. I planned 2 hrs.

Fast forward to later in the evening at home - trying to decipher this pattern has been a challenge to say the least. Three of us (one who is 73 and has been knitting nearly all her life and has done some of everything) have had a devil of a time making sense of this pattern. It has taken all three of us to figure out what we're supposed to do. The pattern is correct it's just badly written - not easy to understand at all.

Another frustration - I've done short rows before (washcloth) but by the time I noticed the "holes" in my work (one of my S&B friends pointed it out b/c they are more noticeable with her yarn) it's too late to rip it out and start again. (I've already done that once after using nearly 200 yds on ball 1 b/c of confusion with the pattern.) I researched how to avoid holes with short rows and found several techniques. I wish she had offered that option at our first class.

This lady is in her 80's and told us she designed this pattern years ago. I also wish she had told us to start the project and be at the point where the different techniques were to be used. We could've saved two hours of just sitting there and doing basic knitting. I didn't pay $15 to just sit there and knit. When asked what point we should be at for the 2nd class she said, "oh it doesn't matter. Just wherever you are will be fine." ??

Don't get me wrong. She's nice as can be and fun to be around but I thought I was paying for instruction. Basically I feel like I paid $30 for a poorly written pattern.

Wanda T
My Blog
My Ravelry
WandaT is offline   Reply With Quote


This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-26-2010, 09:11 AM   #2
Turning the Heel
kmaclean's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 765
Thanks: 179
Thanked 299 Times in 291 Posts
That is sooo disappointing! I hope you'll at least end up happy with the finished product!
kmaclean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 09:24 AM   #3
Knitting the Flap
Belphoebe's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Central Iowa
Posts: 496
Thanks: 152
Thanked 88 Times in 88 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Belphoebe
I am sorry that you had such a bad experience! Hopefully your shawl will turn out well and you will enjoy it for years to come.
Belphoebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 10:16 AM   #4
Knitting the Flap
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 396
Thanks: 26
Thanked 76 Times in 66 Posts
She doesn't sound very organized. And it is sad that the pattern isn't clear. Personally, I work wrap & turn with short rows. Whether the pattern calls for it or not. So you spent $30 for a poorly written pattern & a disorganized class. Bummer.
Abby123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 11:37 AM   #5
Turning the Heel
lissaplus2's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norborne, Missouri
Posts: 753
Thanks: 238
Thanked 159 Times in 129 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to lissaplus2
YES I WOULD be frustrated!!!!
I assume the 3 of you will be making mention of this on the next class?

Im sorry for your frustration too!!

"Be who you are and say what you feel because
those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." - Dr. Seuss

lissaplus2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 12:14 PM   #6
Turning the Heel
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 870
Thanks: 25
Thanked 154 Times in 150 Posts
I think I would be a little mad as well. I imagine that you had to arrange for childcare while you spent your time up there, so you didn't just have the time to spare. Anyone with small children would be irate on that count alone. I remember those days too well.

You spent money for a good or service and received less than advertised for that money. I'm the type of person who will not leave a tip for a bad waiter. I waited tables in college and the better service I gave, the better tips I got. I saw the correlation and worked accordingly. Now, if some of the other folks in that class complained to the shopkeeper about the amount of money you paid and the crap instruction your received, not to mention the instructors lack of attention to time and detail and the crap pattern, you may get some of your money back.

Also, don't recommend that class to anyone. Just because she's older does not mean that she should be given a pass on being inconsiderate and ill-prepared.
Knitting to keep my sanity. It's working... kinda...
OTN: Dr Watson's Cable Crew Neck
OTN: Writer's Cardigan
OTN: Hats!
AngelaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 05:44 PM   #7
Lisa R.
Turning the Heel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 950
Thanks: 88
Thanked 256 Times in 220 Posts
There is a big difference in being able to DO something well and being able to TEACH something well. Giving the benefit of the doubt here, I wonder if this lady is perhaps a regular at your LYS, and folks there assumed that because she's a good knitter or a sweet person,that she was qualified to teach the class.

I believe the proper thing for you to do is go to the manager/owner of your LYS and kindly let her know what you've experienced with this class. I have no idea what their policy is on refunds and that sort of thing, but perhaps they'd refund your class fee or give you a credit for another class in the future. (It wouldn't be good business to just say, "tough." They want your business! But you never know.)

At the very least, they will have been warned, and perhaps would prevent this from happening in the future. If nobody speaks to them, they will continue to assume everything is fine!
Lisa R.

I'm Knittermom9 on Ravelry
Lisa R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:01 AM   #8
Instepping Out
WandaT's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,033
Thanks: 293
Thanked 1,480 Times in 1,442 Posts
Angela, thank goodness I don't have to worry about childcare. My baby is 20. You're right though, that would have added another complication.

Lisa - we will definitely let the owner know how we feel about this "class." I don't know what their policy is on refunds for classes either and I don't really expect one, but if we can make future classes for this particular pattern better that would be good. We really like most of the people who work at this store and I've taken other classes there that were much better organized. We lost two shops in our area last year, so we don't want to burn any bridges - but it IS frustrating.

Wanda T
My Blog
My Ravelry
WandaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:35 AM   #9
1st Leg of the Journey
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 128
Thanks: 41
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
I believe the owner should be informed of the issue. After all, how can the problem be avoided in the future if she is not aware of it? A store credit would be in order here.
KathleenG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 01:53 AM   #10
Mod Squad
ArtLady1981's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Kent, Washington
Posts: 10,519
Thanks: 5,266
Thanked 3,902 Times in 3,022 Posts
Here is my opinion about designers and teachers: some are great designers, some are great teachers...and it is a RARE thing that one person wears both hats. You can design, or you can teach. Not both. Each is a "gift" from God. I don't think it can be learned.

IMHO, you were ripped off. I'm not suggesting "on purpose", but the class was a monumental waste. The pattern was a waste, the "teaching" was a bigger waste.

I've been there, done that. Wasted money on classes. It is my BIGGEST PEEVE ever.

LATE TO CLASS? She should have given a refund of $15 to everyone in attendance. I would have.

Even 10 minutes late is inexcusable. She should have set her timer to be there 30 minutes
to set up her class, and gather her wits. 45 minutes LATE? Oy vey!

If I'm takin' money from folks, they are gonna get their money's worth and then some.
Knitting Help Video Index

I'm Artlady at:
ArtLady1981 is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I "...join yarn to remaining sts..." AFTER I cut my "working" thread? ...ALSO~ RS vs. WS... MindySue19 How-to Questions 4 01-06-2011 09:13 PM
Looking for Lion Brand "Incredible" colour "Copper Penny" Wendy-Lynne Buy/Sell/Swap 3 03-09-2010 09:50 PM
TRADE COMPLETED: KnitPicks Options "Clear Plastic" case for "Binder" style case SteveDallas Buy/Sell/Swap 25 03-03-2008 02:36 PM
WOOL AND BOOKS FOR SALE """SOLD""" Lighting57 Buy/Sell/Swap 0 09-30-2007 04:37 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 AM.