Old 05-23-2010, 11:30 PM   #1
aqueous18
Ribbing the Cuff

What Next?
So, I'm trying to figure out what to knit next. I'm still a beginner, so I want to make sure I don't get into something too difficult. I was following Debbie Stoller's Stitch n Bitch book. I started on a plain garter stitch scarf and moved up to a ribbed scarf. I then learned how to increase and decrease so I made a little kerchief thing. I then made a simple baby blanket for my nephew in garter stitch blocks. I just finished my first hat last night for my niece. I knitted it flat and sewed it up and put an i-cord on top!

Can anyone suggest what I should try next? I was thinking socks, but I'm not sure if I should jump into that yet or not. I've also never worked with more than one color except with the garter stitch scarf, but that was simple 3 color changes, no difficult Fair Isle stuff.
aqueous18 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-23-2010, 11:32 PM   #2
N0obKnitter
Working the Gusset

knit a shawl!

http://www.bevscountrycottage.com/bevs-shawl.html

:D
The Following User Says Thank You to N0obKnitter For This Useful Post:
melmac51 (05-24-2010)
Old 05-24-2010, 02:22 AM   #3
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,641 Times in 7,043 Posts
If you know how to knit, purl, increase and decrease you can pretty much make anything you want. When I was a new knitter my goal was to "someday" make a sweater. After 3 mos knitting and still a newbie I made a simple raglan pullover.

So what do YOU long for and want to make? Socks? A simple, basic pattern would be a good start. Some parts of them require concentration at first, but they aren't hard.

http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/SockClass_Start.htm

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 07:24 AM   #4
trvvn5