Old 07-19-2010, 01:07 PM   #1
Mamamoose
Ribbing the Cuff

stitch marker when knitting in the round
I have started the fish hat from Knitty and it says to add a stitch marker after knitting a few rounds. How exactly do you do this when you are working on dpns? I am new to knitting in the round. My guess is that you add it one stitch before or after the actual round, seeing as the marker will just slide off the dpn otherwise.
Thanks in advance.
Mamamoose is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 07-19-2010, 01:16 PM   #2
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
That is what I do. I always knit one stitch of the new round and then place the marker there. Because I am 100% consistent about how I do it I never wonder what I meant by having the marker there---marker is always after the first stitch.
Old 07-19-2010, 01:32 PM   #3
Mamamoose
Ribbing the Cuff

Thank you very much. That was what I figured, but sometimes what makes sense to me isn't the way to do it!
Old 07-19-2010, 02:32 PM   #4
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Putting it one st before or after the actual beg of round st is too confusing for me to remember. The beg of round doesn't actually have to start at the beg of a needle; you can knit to the end of the round, put your marker on, then knit a couple more sts off the next needle before switching to an empty dpn. You should do this anyway on all needles to help avoid ladders where the needles change, it shifts the sts over that are at the beg and end of the needles.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to suzeeq For This Useful Post:
Mamamoose (07-20-2010)
Old 07-19-2010, 11:13 PM   #5
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
Quote: